Chandra P. Sharma Award

Dr. Chandra P. Sharma was recognized by the Society with a distinguished Scientist award (1991) and the award subsequently is known as Chandra P. Sharma Award. Society recognizes the distinguished scientists working in the area of Biomaterials and Artificial Organs time to time with Chandra P. Sharma Award. Prof. James Kirkpatrick, Emeritus Professor of Pathology, University Medical Center, Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz; and Senior Professor, University Medical Center, Goethe University of Frankfurt has been selected for the Chandra P. Sharma Award 2019 in recognition of his outstanding contributions in Biomaterials and Artificial Organs. He will receive the Award and delivery a plenary lecture during the BioTERM 2019 at IIT Kanpur.

The award winners have been Late Professor P.K. Bajpai (1992) University of Dayton (USA); Mr. H. Vijayakumar (1994) SIDD Life Sciences, Chennai, India; Professor Erhan Piskin (1997), Hacettepe University, Turkey; Dr. Hideharu Shintani (1999), National Institute of Health Sciences, Japan; Professor Victor I. Sevastianov, (2000) Russian Research Centre for Biomaterials for Artificial Organs, Russia; Professor Subrata Saha, (2001), SUNY, USA; Professor Allan S. Hoffman (2002), University of Washington, USA; Dr. Leo Vroman (2003), Downstate Medical, USA; Professor Xingdong Zhang (2004), Sichuan University, China; Professor Robert E. Baier (2005), SUNY at Buffalo, USA, Dr. Avi Domb (2006), The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel; Late Professor Larry L. Hench (2007) University Professor of Biomedical Engineering in the Florida Institute of Technology, USA; Professor David F. Williams (2008), Editor in Chief, Biomaterials; Professor Buddy D. Ratner (2009), University of Washington, Seattle, USA; Professor Young Ha Kim (2010), Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, Korea; Professor Yasuhiko Tabata (2011), Institute for Frontier Medical Sciences, Kyoto University, Japan; Professor Sung Wan Kim (2012), University of Utah, USA; Professor Myron Spector (2013), Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, USA; Professor Seeram Ramakrishna (2014), Center for Nanofibers & Nanotechnology, NUS, Singapore; Professor John A. Ramshaw (2015), Chief Scientist, CSIRO Australia; Professor John L. Brash (2016), McMaster University, Canada; Professor Gilson Khang (2017), Chonbuk National University, South Korea and Professor Ashutosh Chilkoti (2018), Duke University, USA.

Nominations for FBAO fellowship

Nominations are invited from the members of the SBAOI for the fellowship (FBAO) which will be awarded during the BioTERM 2019 at IIT Kanpur from November 28 to December 1, 2019. The last date for submitting the nomination is fixed as March 31, 2019. Nominations should contain (1) a Formal Application describing the contribution to the Society (one page), (2) a CV with full details of the publication list/patents/technology commercialized/products developed and (3) one support letter from any Fellows of SBAOI. Please note that the award is through nomination only.

MAHE "Young Scientist Award"

The MAHE "Young Scientist Award" has been constituted for the best paper presented by a scientist/academic faculty during the national conferences of the Society. There is an age limit of 40 years for competing for MAHE "Young Scientist Award".

Bajpai-Saha "Student Award"

The Bajpai-Saha "Student Award" is for the best student paper presented during the national conferences of the Society. The students should be registered for any of the regular courses i.e. Ph.D., MSc, MS, B.Tech etc. Research Associates and Post Doctoral Fellows cannot apply for the student award.

Poster Award

Best poster awards will be selected by a jury of experts and awarded during the closing ceremony.